Archery/Kyūdō

Discussion in 'The STAGE48 Lobby' started by FOAKB48, Jun 15, 2014.

1. FOAKB48

FOAKB48 Kenkyuusei

Does anyone take Archery or kyūdō? If anyone doesn't know about Kyudo, it's basically Japanese archery and is different to normal Archery.
    I wanted to do Kyudo, however the nearest club from me is about 2 hours away so unfortunately I can not do it, so I will just take up normal Archery which is about 5 minutes from where I live.

2. hjr1891

hjr1891 Member

Oshimen:
    IxR
    Bowtech 82nd Airborne with custom cams. 75lb draw, 40lb hold. Yes I am an archer. [​IMG] I even teach, occasionally.

3. FOAKB48

FOAKB48 Kenkyuusei

Finally someone who replied lol
    I don't know what that bow is like atm since I'm still new to Archery, but that must be a compound bow if it has cams?
    Do you have pictures of your bow?
    I have actually been watching World Archery Championships alot though.
    I am most likely to get a recurve bow for my birthday when I finish my beginners course.

4. hjr1891

hjr1891 Member

Oshimen:
    IxR
    Compound Bow it is. :D Custom cams because I take longer shots than is typical when bowhunting. Need the extra power to make sure I get penetration at range. Plus, I am a strong guy. Sixty pound draws feel like toys to me.:^^;:

Recurves are fine bows. Been looking into getting a Mongolian Recurve myself. That or a classic style British Longbow, in yew.:corr: Those are a B**CH to find though.:eek:

BTW, plenty of 82nd Airborne bow vids on YT. just saying. One of them is actually of mine. Before the cam replacement. Not telling which it is.:hehe:

5. FOAKB48

FOAKB48 Kenkyuusei

I was wondering what to get out of a Compound and Recurve, but I thought that I'll use a recurve first, although I think it will probably depend on what I feel more comfortable with, so when I do my beginners course in August, I'll get a better idea then.